The Code of Practice Appeal Board

A complainant whose complaint has been rejected, or a company ruled in breach of the Code, may appeal the Panel's decision to the Code of Practice Appeal Board. The Panel may also report a company to the Appeal Board whose conduct in relation to the Code, in a particular case or because of repeated breaches of the Code, raises concerns about the company's procedures. In some cases a company may be required to suspend the material or activity at issue pending the outcome of an appeal.

The Appeal Board consists of an independent, legally qualified, chair and eight other independent members.  There are also eight senior executives from pharmaceutical companies.  The Appeal Board always sits with a majority of independent members.  Further details are available in the PMCPA Constitution and Procedure here.

In addition to its role in relation to appeals, the Appeal Board receives reports on all cases considered by the Panel and oversees its work.  Current members of the Code of Practice Appeal Board are:


Ms Kate Brunner KC


Dr C Goard (Representing patients' interests)

Ms A Hossain (Lay)

Ms A Pracz (Pharmacist)

Dr D Heaney (Hospital Consultant)

Ms A Houghton (Independent body involved in providing information on medicines)


Dr H Bland (Executive Medical Director UK&I, Bristol-Myers Squibb Pharmaceuticals Ltd)

Dr F Catterall (Compliance Officer for the UK, Ireland and Nordics, Takeda (Shire is now part of Takeda))

Dr M Toms, Vice President, Country Medical Director GlaxoSmithKline